It’s a Jungle in Here

Living with animals

Mourning cat December 9, 2007

Our rag doll cat has been grieving for our dog who passed away for quite some time. You can tell that he is upset. First off, he doesn’t meow as much as he used to. Also, he is spending much more time in the basement. He stayed away from our puppy for a long time, too. Whenever I returned home  he would usually be at the door, companionably waiting for me. Yet now, if he’s at the door at all, he’s waiting to go try and escape. (He is an indoor cat. If he goes outside he hurts his paws.)

I think he is starting to feel better now though. He has begun to play with my puppy, and apparently he is sleeping with her sometimes. He used to do that with my dog who passed away. Also he is sleeping with me again. Maybe that’s just because of the change in weather. He used to be such good friends with my deceased dog. They would eat together, sleep together, play together. I’d never seen such good pet companions, period. Hopefully he and my puppy can become as close as they were. For both of their sake. They need a good friend.

We’ll see how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

